Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Drunkard's Path #1, which I have dubbed (after the iridescent Dragonfly fabric): Dragonfly Path.

Drunkard’s Path #1, which I have dubbed (after the iridescent Dragonfly fabric): Dragonfly Path.

As I think I mentioned in my last post, I received some Drunkard Path blocks (and the makings for many more) from my friend, Debbie, who doesn’t piece anymore. My quest is to put these together in a cool and fun way and give the top back to her.

Perfect for me, ’cause I LOVE making tops… but the quilting/finishing part is not as compelling for me.

I finished the first top earlier in the week. With the flash (indoors) the dragonfly fabric is much more prominent that in “real life.”

Part of what makes this project fun for me is that I get to play with Drunkard’s Path layouts.  I had already done that with Fan Dance, and you may notice a similarily between the four sections of Dragonfly Path and the quarters of Fan Dance.

Another Drunkard's Path layout using the black background as sort of "pinwheels."  Can you see it?

Another Drunkard’s Path layout using the black background as sort of “pinwheels.” Can you see it?

Now, of course, I have about 400 more blocks using black and the dragonfly fabric as the background with 25 different Fairy Frost quarter circles. I want to make these as different from Dragonfly Path as I can.

I’m playing with layouts of blocks in groups of four.

The thing I thought of was to view the Drunkard’s Path blocks as a sort of half-square triangle and try out layouts using that idea.

If you look at the first layout, the first four blocks in the corner I tried to make look like a pinwheel, but skipping over the first two on the left side, you can see the next four from a “Broken Dishes” block.

This version looks a bit more "Modern" to me but I can't really tell why.

This version looks a bit more “Modern” to me, but I can’t really tell why.

So, I decided that I needed two different 4-block units, and I came up with a layout I call “all in/all out.” I’m sure there’s an official name for it somewhere, but I’m too lazy to look it up.

I rather like this because it means there can be some motif quilting in the center areas with a contrasting thread.

I have to say, though, that I never really gave a thought to the quilting of quilts while piecing until I started trying to finish up my tops this year.

Adding that dimension has changed how I view my tops.

When thinking about how I approach quilting, I used to think about it the same way I would approach putting together jigsaw puzzles with my Dad. They usually don’t just “go together” at random, but there’s a “right way.”

pincushion

Well, in quilting, there really isn’t a “right way” and that’s what makes quilting a game for me.  I get to decide what’s “right.” The colors you pick for your quilts are a piece of the puzzle. Then you cut the actual pieces and put them into a block.  You can view the blocks as pieces to assemble into a top. You can add quilting motifs as another piece of the puzzle.

But the best thing is that you have control and you know when it’s “right.”

(p.s. You may eventually see Dragonfly Path in the shop of the New England Quilting Museum in Lowell, MA, since my friend, Debbie works in the shop.)

