Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I learned a lot from In Full Bloom. Each block is a separate quilting motif, so I machine quilted it block by block... and subsequently had to tie off ALL those ends.

I learned a lot from In Full Bloom. Each block has a separate quilting motif, so I machine quilted it block by block… and subsequently had to tie off ALL those ends.

I am hoping to get my quilting mojo back.

What? You thought I never lost it?

I had to smush two photos of Airship together because I couldn't step back far enough to get all of it in one shot.

I had to smoosh two photos of Airship together because I couldn’t step back far enough to get all of it in one shot.

Well, for a while I feel like I have been plodding along. Even the new(ish) quilt that I have been working on (Airships) has felt “flat.”

It’s as if all my design decisions lately have been ordinary and uninspired.

Sure, I’ve been excited by the fact that I’m actually getting quilts finished and bound, but I’ve been second-quessing myself for a while now. I have been asking my friends (and some of my fellow group members on Yahoo and Facebook) for suggestions and advice.

So, what happens to you went you get “unconfident” in making design decisions?

BP_LFDM

Half-square triangle border strips for Borderpalooza quilt Les Filles Des Mares are done!

Do you stop what you’re doing and just stew on the decision?

Do you just keep plugging away and hope you don’t “ruin” what you’re working on?

Well, I tried to apply my recent writing experience only to find it’s just not directly applicable:

I hit a wall on my current book “The Echoes” and decided to write the plot in the first person from the protagonist’s point of view, as if she were keeping a diary.  I crept up to the point in the story that I had gotten stuck and found that I had more ideas of how to continue. Success!

Unfortunately, working on another quilting project doesn’t seem to help my present project. (I can’t say “related” because none of my quilts are actually related to each other, except the DnA project quilts and I’ve made all of those projects I’m going to!)

Getting confidence back in making design decisions is going to be harder than I thought.

I didn’t like the bright blue background for Airships. I changed it to a green even though it’s not “conceptually right.”  I like it better. I find it’s a better tonal balance, but do airships really fly in green air?

And no one but me seems to like it.

So, I’ll be working on appliqueing the center circles on the blocks for a bit and trying to decide if I should search for a different blue or keep the green the way it is… maybe use a contrasting color for the quilting on those blocks.

How strange (and frustrating!) to have so much fabric and nothing that I feel “works.”

