Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

My grandmother, at 20, just after she came to America from Scotland.

My grandmother, at 20, just after she came to America from Scotland.

Well, that I took a little more time off than I expected to. I guess it should refresh my store of tales to tell (even though here I mostly “talk” about what I’m doing now.)

First of all, I went to visit my mom in Pittsburgh.  We hung out and went through old family photos to see if she could identify some of the older generation.  I ended up coming back with an album of my father’s family’s pictures to scan and “clean up” and put on disk.

It’s a long-term project, especially since I’m always curious to know who is in the photo and how they relate to people I’ve met. The very first photo enabled me to discover the ship my grandmother came over to America on (and no, it wasn’t The Mayflower.)

Both before and after this trip, I worked on Sunflower Lattice.  The quilting is now all done and I’m about 2/3 of the way through the binding (thank goodness for Colin Firth!) But, yes, my cousin, the intended recipient, saw it, and yes, she says she loves it. So, lots of incentive to finish it.

I

I pieced this blue background for a friend who intends to put LARGE applique fish on it.  Miko says she can already see them!

I have just resumed the Borderpalooza and all the spools are done (FINALLY!) and on the Japanese Cats quilt. I will put on one more solid border and call it complete and ready for quilting.

I got a bunch of blue batiks from a friend to make the background of a quilt for her. I probably worked more on that than on the spools, since the spools were frustrating me towards the end of the project.

Which lead me to a very strange dilemma.  I had planned the quilting order of my quilts up to Sunflower Lattice, but I couldn’t figure out what to do next.  I guess I never thought I’d get those five quilts done, so I have no batting or backing earmarked for future projects.

Dither, dither, dithering.  What to quilt next?

As far as I can tell this quilts has been crying out for a border for 2 years or more...

As far as I can tell this quilt, Road to Ruin, has been crying out for a border for 2 years or more…

For the long-arm. I’m starting  In Full Bloom. I pieced a back but still have no idea of what motifs to use to quilt it.  It will give me some practice in planning border quilting on the long arm since there are multiple borders.

The next quilt to be quilted will probably be Aiming For Accuracy, and then, maybe Spirographology. I’m also thinking of basting Starina to quilt by hand starting in the Fall. I know I’ve said that before, but this time I really, really mean it!

And, yes, I WILL get the threads buried and the binding put on Got Dots as soon as I get over the fact that it didn’t quite turn out as I had planned.

Next up in the Borderpalooza will probably be either the Civil War Sesquicentennial quilt (i,e, the first of Barbara Brackman’s block of the week quilts I did) or, possibly the Road to Ruin (which I thought I had a blog post about long ago, but I can’t seem to find it.) I probably called it something else. I have no clue of what to do with either of them.

So, I guess I was busy enough without blogging, but I will try not to let it go as long between posts again.

