Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Got Dots is all done except for the binding (and some minor details.)

Got Dots is all done except for the binding (and some minor details.)

I finally got Got Dots off of the long arm.  There is still a bit of work to be done on it. I decided that the straight “in the ditch” quilting lines would be easier on my home machine and I have to tie off a bunch of stray threads because of the way I eventually ended up doing the border. Oh, and I still have to decide on a color/fabric for the binding.

I still like the quilt, but I no long consider it “show worthy.”  When I’m done, it’s going on my bed and I may or may not make another Drunkard’s Path quilt in the future. I love the quilting motif I used on the center of the quilt (Bauhaus by Urban Elementz)

I am one seam away from finishing the center of In Tribute to Maryellen Hopkins.  Then, I have to think about borders. Again.

Les Filles des Mares, Barbara Brackman's Civil War Cententiall Quilt, and Stairway to California all need borders but were stopped because I couldn't think of what kind and how wide.

Les Filles des Mares, Civil War Sesquicentennial, and an unnamed Stairway/Road to California all need borders but were stopped because I couldn’t think of what kind and how wide.

It turns out that I have several quilts which have been stopped at the borders, and so, for at least the next couple weeks, I’m going to holding a “Borderpaloosa” for myself, which means that I will be getting out my quilts lacking borders and trying to decide what to do with them: pieced or solid, which colors, etc.

I think I’ll put up a new board on Pinterest for my Borderpalooza ideas, and if you have any suggestions or directions, please let me know.

Japanese Cats is based on a cat quilt I made long ago from a pattern.  I got a long time ago.

Japanese Cats is based on a cat quilt I made long ago from a pattern. I got a long time ago.

First up in the Borderpalooza will probably be Japanese Cats.

The cats themselves come from an old pattern named “No Ordinary Cats” which I must have bought in the mid-1990s. I vaguely remember it was when my sister lived in Arkansas.

Instead of random pieced vertical borders as in the original pattern, I have added “cat toys” (balls, mice, fish) in japanese fabrics. I may keep this quilt or I may offer it to Siamese Rescue to auction off to raise money (and maybe get the inside scoop on a kitty when I’m ready for an annoying feline companion for Miko.)

My friend, Kris volunteers with them and they have lots of cute things in their kitty store.


This weekend is my Guild’s Quilt Show. We have one every other year and this one threatens to be seriously awesome.

I know of at least two amazing quilts that will be there: Jeff Lomicka’s ribbon winning Robot Maze and Mary Ann Geiser’s Floribunda (which anyone who is into handwork will go wild for…since it’s hand appliqued and hand-quilted.)

As you can see, something for everyone and everything in between.  If you’re in northeast/north central Mass., come one by!

