Tags

, , , , , , , ,

My folded flower pins and hairclips are now available at the New England Quilter's Museum... in case you really need one.

My folded flower pins and hair clips are now available at the New England Quilter’s Museum… in case you really need one.

I have to chuckle that I named the last post “No Show” and then missed blogging last week because of trouble with my ISP.  I swear it was not on purpose!

I had been working on my taxes and the “computer” had been slow, I only got the Fed filed when my Mac stopped being able to load anything at all in my browser.  Naturally, I thought it was me and my machine, but it turned out to be my DSL connection and after many hours of testing, plugging and unplugging, trading wires, turning things off and on, etc. I still ended up having to wait for someone to come on Monday.

So now I’m back.

And, yes, it’s Saturday and not Thursday because I was supposed to shoot all my quilts on Thursday and then blog, but I ended up with a migraine… which lasted until today.

Now we are all caught up.

There are 8 more days if you are playing the Linten Challenge with BoB.  I finished In Full Bloom as a top (which counts for me.)  I  was trying to decide if I wanted to try to complete another BoB before Easter, but dithered for most of last week.

These are the indigo fabrics after washing.  I think the contrast is a bit greater.

These are the indigo fabrics after washing. I think the contrast is a bit greater.

Instead, I went through my jewelry, cooking and quilt magazines and decimated them. (Well, I kept much less than 90%, so maybe I should use some other word.) In fact, I threw so much paper and clutter away that I was astounded that more space wasn’t clear afterwards.

*sigh*

I guess that’s why I ended up with a migraine.

Anyway, one of the quilty things I did do was wash the Japanese indigo fabrics my friend Addie gave me. If you remember, I had considered using them all in a quilt and calling it Mood Indigo, so I did some research on them.

I knew they were Japanese and indigos. I suspected they were Ikat, but I was really surprised to find out that they were made by a process called kasuri.

It turns out that kasuri fabrics are yarn dyed (usually in a process like tie dying) and then woven in plain weave to produce the patterns. For me, it makes the patterns in these pieces even more interesting. Most are geometric, but one has birds in it!

So cool. Now, I’m wondering how I can bear to trim them!

A big problem with these indigos, though is that they bleed.

indigoruns

After washing 4 times with Synthropol, my indigo fabrics are still running… how will I ever catch them?

And bleed.

I washed them four times with Synthropol and they are still bleeding (although much less than before.)

They are also stiff. I read somewhere that I should wash them with hair conditioner to soften them, but I’m going to go on with them as is.  After all, jeans loosen up the more you use them, so maybe the subsequent quilt also will.

I also have decided not to use white or off-white in the quilt in case the dye is still running.  I figure not using very light fabrics should make the kasuri patterns stand out more. Right?

Anyway, I’m off to the farmer’s market this morning (what there is left of it.)  I hope you’ve all been well the last couple of weeks. I’ll try to get those quilts photographed this week!

Oh, and special congrats to my friend Jeff Lomicka for winning a second place ribbon at MQX in Manchester. Jeff and his wife, Cricket are the ones who lend me time on their long arm.  Go Jeff!

 

