Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I've finished about half the blocks for Les Filles de les Mares.

I’ve finished about half the blocks for Les Filles de les Mares. (special thanks to Melissa D who said it looked like half of a Ladies of the Lake block…which inspired me to nickname it “the girls of the ponds.”

Well, Thursday saw me writing, just not a blog post.

I’ve slowed down in the editing process for “The Echoes.”  It was going fine until I realized that I had almost caught up to one of the “gaps” I had left and had to do “actual writing.”

Instead of being creative in my writing, I moved on to my documentation project.

I am documenting my volunteer job with my Quilt Guild. I am their web manager. From just designing and updating the web site, the job has expanded over the 5 years I’ve been doing it, and now that I want to take some time off (to quilt and to write), I am kind of astonished at how much information I have to impart to the person taking over.

The piecing of Everything's Coming Up Roses is now finished. It goes to it's "new home" on Monday where it can be finished and (I hope) enjoyed.

The piecing of Everything’s Coming Up Roses is now finished. It goes to its “new home” on Monday where it can be finished and (I hope) enjoyed.

I also had some design projects to contemplate (one of which I finished.) So, not a lot of quilting this week.

It would have been a great week for quilting since the weather has been in the lower teens (Farenheit) and single digits. I almost wish I had set up Starina to hand quilt months ago when I thought of it.

Now, of course, it’s Saturday, and there is no food in the house. After days of hiding out and doing “inside stuff” (mostly cleaning), I have a ton of trash to haul to the dumpster. I guess I can’t put off facing the “arctic hinterlands” of New England any more.

Since Everything’s Coming Up Roses is, essentially, done, and the blocks Les Filles… will be done before February, I am working on a new design based on equilateral triangles for Drop and Give Me 20.

This one is based on a quilt by Japanese quilter Isako Murakami. I can’t find a picture of it online, but the book I borrowed from the Guild Library (Japanese Quilts by Jill Liddell and Yuko Watanabe was published in 1988 before pictures were posted to the internet as a matter of course.

And, of course, I have to draft it.

So, pictures of it next week, I promise!

