Tags

, , , , ,

All the blocks are made for "Everything's Coming Up Roses" and I'm putting it together.

All the blocks are made for Everything’s Coming Up Roses, and I’m putting it together.

I think things are going along swimmingly for a change. Look at all I’ve accomplished so far in January:

  • I’m actually posting this on a Thursday!
  • I finished my Guild’s BoM (both of them)
  • I’m deep into the first edit of The Echoes (even if I haven’t finished the first draft yet.)
  • I’ve actually named the Storm at Sea/Rose quilt and all the blocks are done. It’s on track to be completely pieced by our Guild meeting.
  • I’ve started on another quilt using the bright homespun FQs I bought over the holidays. It’s an easy block with all triangles. So easy I can’t find the name of it in my reference books.
  • I sent the pillow shams I made as FMQ practice to my mom… and she still likes them up close, although she says she would have preferred them without the ruffles.
  • I have made a “good start” in documenting the web site for my Guild… I won’t bore you with the details.
I thought this block was called "Ladies of the Lake," but I looked it up and that isn't it.  Any one know for sure?

I thought this block was called “Ladies of the Lake,” but I looked it up and that isn’t it. Any one know what it’s really called?

How do I do all this stuff, you ask?  Well, at the very beginning of my blog (way back in June of 2012) I shared my secret: I try to do a little quilting every day.

And now I try to do a little quilting, a little writing and a little editing everyday.  (And, I am hoping to add exercise to that mix, but I actually enjoy the other things. Exercise, not so much.)

So, if you want to try this out on your own, February is the perfect time because Beth of EvaPaige Quilt Designs is running Drop and Give Me 20 (DaGM20).

Basically, you make a semi-public commitment to do something quilt related for 20 minutes every day during the month of February (and, hey, February’s short!) and share your progress with like minded friends like me (who totally understand that 20 minutes of clearing off the ironing board is quilting progress!)

DSC03522

William Morris (ish) nickel squares. I will contemplate what to do with them during DaGM20… unless I change my mind.

At the end of the month, you are eligible for cool prizes (and you might have actually finished something.)

Here is my vow:

“I, owner of too many UFOs and/or more fabric than I can hope to use up in my lifetime (also known as A.G. Lindsay) am joining Quilting Hottie Haven’s third annual DaGMT event, and pledge to quilt for at least 20 minutes every day of the month of February, 2014. In doing so I hope to actually finish something…anything and I think Beth Helfter is brilliant for coming up with this concept and inspiring me to join.”

