Tags

, , , , , , , ,

This is what the black & white (still unnamed) quilt looks like now...

This is what the black & white (still unnamed) quilt looks like now…

I have become consumed with the idea that I might just get this novel done… or at least that I might just write 50,000 words on a single work in a month.

I’ve got about 6500 more words to go, and we’re heading into the final confrontation. (Spoiler: nobody dies.)

I have probably spent as much time revising the black & white quilt as I have writing. It’s a little boring (the quilt that is), but I like it. I have to keep reminding myself I don’t mean for it to be a “show quilt.”

Unfortunately, I have been inundated with photos of awesome quilts clearly meant to garner prizes at quilt shows. They are beautiful in intricate and… not really want I want to do.

Another relaxing pattern: Triple Irish Chain. What makes this one less than relaxing is that the square finish at 1".

Another relaxing pattern: Triple Irish Chain. What makes this one less than relaxing is that the square finish at 1″.

Well, that’s not exactly true. I’d love to make one of those mind-blowing show quilts, but I only have so much wall space… and could I bring myself to sleep under it after it’s won it’s prizes? Could I fold it up and let Ed sleep on it knowing that it would then have to be tossed in the mega-washers at the laundromat?

Plus, the simpler the quilt, the more likely I am to finish it. If I hadn’t been making black and white 16-patches this month, if I had had to design and draft the blocks like those in Big Wheels, I don’t think I could have written the novel.

The quilting gave my writer’s brain a rest, and the writing gave my quilter’s brain a rest, and I think it all worked well together.  I might just keep it up (to a lesser scale) in the future.

