Tags

, , , , ,

My Modern Trees kit... for when I am able to go back and actually do the quilting. It includes the top, the quilting patterns I drafted and the backing.

My Modern Trees kit… for when I am able to go back and actually do the quilting. It includes the top, the quilting patterns I drafted and the backing.

We don’t get trick-or-treaters in the apartment complex where I live.  Well, not usually, but when we do, they are usually little kids from our building with their parents.

I love seeing the kids dressed up and hanging with their parents.  It’s the one day where they are encouraged to say “hi” to their neighbors instead of just hiding their faces shyly in Dad’s shirt.

And, of course, Halloween is the day before November and the holiday season.

This November, I’m going to try something a little different. I am clearing my decks so I can work on my writing.

It’s been years since I wrote fiction. I really enjoyed it (but probably wasn’t much good at it since I never seemed to edit what I wrote!  Every word was a gem that passed from my fingers to the page… well, okay, I won’t go there.)

I signed up for NaNoWriMo which is National Novel Writing Month. Yes, I am going to attempt to write fiction every day for a month… possibly even the 50,000 words required by NaNoWriMo.  Wish me luck!

This isn’t to say that I am abandoning my quilting.  I am returning to my “15 minutes of quilting a day” routine (as I wrote about when I started this blog.) My project is a tribute to the late Mary Ellen Hopkins. I haven’t named it yet.

I have set up the blocks to be worked on in stages:

The first stage is just cutting things out. The two blocks require 16 - 2.5" squares of black and white fabrics, 4 - 4.5" of red fabric, and 4 - 3" square of white fabrics cut on the diagonal with the edges trimmed to form a 2.5" square (more on this at a later time.)

The first stage is just cutting things out. The two blocks require 16 – 2.5″ squares of black and white fabrics, 4 – 4.5″ of red fabric, and 4 – 3″ square of white fabrics cut on the diagonal with the edges trimmed to form a 2.5″ square (more on this at a later time.)

stage2

In the second stage, I have sewn the squared-off triangles to one corner of the 4.5″ squares and paired up the black and white 2.5″ squares.

stage3

In stage 3, the black and white squares are sewn into 4-patches, and the other half of the squared-off triangles have been sewn to the opposite corner of the 4.5″ squares, forming the “Kansas Dugout” block.

I paired up 4-patches and Dugout blocks in stage 4.

I paired up 4-patches and Dugout blocks in stage 4.

In the final stage, the 2 x 4 rectangles are paired up to form the 16-patch blog, and the 4 Kansas Dugout blocks are sewn together to form an X.

In the final stage, the 2 x 4 rectangles are paired up to form the 16-patch block, and the 2 pairs of Kansas Dugout blocks are sewn together to form an X.

This is where I will set it aside until I have complete enough blocks to make the quilt as large as I want it to be.

I set up one block each at each stage each day. I start the day sewing, then press (and trim, if necessary) what I’ve sewn. Finally, I set up for the next day. If I run out of blocks, I use some of the time to cut more.

I hope that this will allow me to squeeze in a writing life in addition to my normal life, and my quilting life.  I will try to blog as usual, and if you want to follow my NaNoWriMo progress, I’ll put up a widget like this:

If I have anything readable by the end of the month, you’ll probably hear my yelp of triumph even in Alaska and Europe. (I can’t promise it will be loud enough to be heard in Asia and the Indian sub-continent.)

