Tags

, , , , ,

Aiming for Accuracy with the final borders on. Now it moves to the bottom of my quilting queue.  Who knows when I'll get to it.

Aiming for Accuracy with the final borders on. Now it moves to the bottom of my quilting queue. Who knows when I’ll get to it.

After trying to machine quilt on two different machines, I have given up (for now.)  I was hoping to get the placemats I made to test directions for The Quilt Pattern Magazine quilted and bound.

In fact, I even bought pink fabric for the binding (after having exorcised by stash of most of my pink fabric years ago… I am not a fan of pink.)

So, I hauled out Barbara and applied the Super Slider my friend Sharon gave me to test (since Barbara’s “bed” is not smooth, I had worked with Saran wrap around the bottom of the machine the last time.)  The Super Slider worked much better than the Saran wrap.

However, no matter what I set my tension at I had problems with the stitches showing at the back AND the machine skipping stitches. What brought this to my attention was that the thread was shredding and blobbing.  That (mostly) stopped when I started using a needle with a REALLY BIG EYE.

I cleaned. I oiled. I changed the needle (several times.) I even opened up the tension dial (probably a mistake on my part) to see if anything was stuck in there. No change.

I did not have enough of the cute Jingle Bell fabric for the back of Modern Trees, so I pieced it in the center (the top will probably have a hanging sleeve on it anyway!

I did not have enough of the cute Jingle Bell fabric for the back of Modern Trees, so I pieced it in the center. (The top will probably have a hanging sleeve on it anyway!)

Okay, so I’ve got another machine I can use: the Singer Merritt.

Unfortunately, to get a “proper” stitch, I had to dial the tension all the way up to 9!  …And it was also skipping stitches. What is wrong with me?

In fact, I had to use Tension 9 to piece the backing for Modern Trees. This is just ridiculous!

I’m a little afraid to touch the Featherweight in case my tension issues spread there.

So, other than these two pieces, I really haven’t done much in the way of quilting.

Well, actually I have, but it’s all be on test sandwiches to try and get the invisible thread to not get grabbed by the feeder arm and fed to the back of the quilt at random times forming a blob (which also happened with the pink thread I though I could replace it with.)

Anyone heard of a foot causing these problems?  The invisible thread was blobbing even with the even-feed foot, but the regular thread didn’t blob then (it did skip, though.)

I guess it’s back to google to research tension problems on various Singers…

