Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

newcar

The first car I’ve ever owned that no one else has owned before me.

Sorry I haven’t been keeping up with the blog for a couple of weeks.  I have been sewing, but mostly I’ve been obsessing over cars. Specifically a car that would replace my beloved 15-year-old Saturn.

It took me a good month of active searching (and over 6 months of “oh, I should be thinking about getting a new car” kind of searching) to make sure I had what I wanted and wouldn’t feel too much buyer’s remorse.

It wasn’t fun, but it’s done.

In the meantime, I’ve been trying to keep up with my quilting projects, updates to my Guild’s web site. and life, in general.

The lessons in Aiming for Accuracy are now all about filling in areas in anticipation of making it a top. The "new" part of this chunk are the friendship stars at the bottom.

The lessons in Aiming for Accuracy (Lesson 10) are now all about filling in areas in anticipation of making it a top. The “new” part of this chunk are the friendship stars at the bottom.

Right now, Aiming for Accuracy is on my design wall.

We’re at the stage where smaller fill-in blocks and strips are being made and added. This week (Lesson 13, which I have not yet completed), is a row of 4-patches which will enable me to sew the top row together.

Unfortunately, putting Aiming for Accuracy up on the design wall has left me pausing in the piecing of Cross Roads.

I have finished all the Cross Roads blocks, but since they’re scrappy, I need to lay them all out. I usually do this on the design wall so I can shift them around, walk away, come back, and shift them around again for a couple of days, but since Aiming for Accuracy is so complex, I don’t want to take it down until it’s in bigger chunks.

So instead I feel should be finishing the quilt marking of the Xmas Dear Jane, but I’m kind of uninspired. I have all the quilting motifs planned, and I only have a couple more to mark, but now I’m just not as enthusiastic as I was.

Still marking quilting lines on Xmas Dear Jane.

I have Grandmother’s Choice prepped for the long arm, but I haven’t talked to Cricket about going over to use it.

I have finished piecing some place mats I was testing for publication (obviously I can’t show them now), but I didn’t do a great job, so now I’m having trouble doing the actual quilting because they aren’t up to my “usual standards.”

I’m hoping that spending time with my friends at our Guild meeting on Monday will get me feeling more confident and happier about my projects. I’ll be showing The Quilt That Shall Remain Nameless and Flower Pot.

