Tags

, , , , , , , ,

The Cross Roads block (without sashing.)

The Cross Roads block (without sashing.)

This week, I’ll continue with drafting the Cross Roads block.

Last week, I looked at the block and decided the size I wanted to make (and the size of the elements), now we can start to draft it.

Looking at the block, you can see that it is divided into four equal areas using two diagonal lines. This framework is what we will work on today.

Drawing this is actually very easy.

1.  Draw a 12″ square on a large paper. This will be the size of the block when finished.
This is the block with the outside reference line (shown in red, though you would draw it in pencil so you can erase it later.)2.  Very lightly, in pencil, draw a line ½” all around the outside of the block. This is just a reference line. (I will use the intersections in the corners later.)

In the illustration, I am showing the reference line as red, but you should draw it in pencil so you can erase it later.

BTW, the reference lines are half the width of the sashing, which I chose to be 1″

CrossRoadsB23.  Draw lines 1″ from each edge of the block. (Make sure they cross each other on the corners to form the “cornerstones.”) This will be the sashing.In the illustration, permanent lines are shown in black.  I usually use a pen for these lines.
CrossRoadsB34. Very lightly, in pencil, draw two diagonal lines from corner to corner, forming an “X” in the middle of the block. (You can continue these lines all the way to the reference lines in the middle of the sashing, if you want, but I don’t usually bother.)
5. CrossRoadsB4Draw a line ½” from each side of each diagonal line. This will form the 1″ crossbars and the 1″ center square.

xblocks_djThis is the framework of the block.  It’s also a well-known block in itself.  I call it an “X” block, but it is the basis for many, many other blocks if you vary the thickness of the X and what you put in the quarter-square triangles made by the X.

Next week, I’ll talk about drafting the quarter-square triangles that are framed by the crosswise pieces of the X block.


In terms of quilting, this week…

The flower pot is all sewn together.  I'm not sure how I'm going to put the  velcro on permanently (right now, it's just glued on.)

The Flower Pot is all sewn together. I’m not sure how I’m going to put the velcro on permanently (right now, it’s just glued on.) It needs a border as well.

Week 7 of Aiming for Accuracy.  I made this block slightly wrong.  The QST on the outsides should be the same fabric as the corner squares, not black, as I did.

Week 7 of Aiming for Accuracy. I made this block slightly wrong. The QST on the outsides should be the same fabric as the corner squares, not black, as I did.

