Tags

, , , , , ,

I had meant to write on Thursday, as usual.

I sat down at my computer and looked at the title box of my post and came up with … nothing.

It’s not that I haven’t actually DONE anything, it’s just that I didn’t feel like writing about it.  So I didn’t.

And I didn’t on Friday.

And I didn’t on Saturday.

Finally pushed myself to start this little quilt to display the folded fabric flowers.  When it's done, the flowers will have velcro on the back and buttons on the front so they're detachable.

Finally pushed myself to start this little quilt to display the folded fabric flowers.

And now it’s Sunday, and I REALLY should write what’s going on with me, quilting-wise, I guess.

First of all, I finished my Aiming for Accuracy block(s) I liked the blocks on left, but the big block (on the right) doesn’t seem to go with them.  I know when the whole quilt it put together, it won’t bug me as much, but when you’re working on one block at a time, the quilt IS that one (or, in this case, two) block(s).

I finally decided that now is the time to start the small quilt I’ve been meaning to make to support folded flower experiments I had done before my first workshop (now probably 2 years ago.)

I was teaching the hexagons, but I wanted to see what the folds would look like with less sides (the 12-and 8- sided versions being shown in the book.)

I finally got a shot of Grandmother's Choice.  Now all I have to do is decide on a border.

I finally got a shot of Grandmother’s Choice. Now all I have to do is decide on a border.

I decided that 4-sided is “acceptable”, though not very “flower-looking” and 3- is just weird. I included them both, though. When the little quilt is done, the flowers will have velcro on the back and buttons on the front so they’re detachable and people can pull them off to look more closely at them.

Once again, I’m putting off working on the quilting for the Xmas Dear Jane (and I REALLY must come up with a better name for her.)

I thought, well, I just prep another quilt for the long arm, but the quilt I chose (DnA1) was too wide for the backing I had washed.

So, I spent the rest of the time pulling out quilt tops and measuring them (even though I have the measurements already in my Excel spreadsheet.)  I though of Got Dots?, but I wanted a dotted backing fabric.  I thought of Road to Ruin (I thought I had a photo, but I guess I don’t), but it needs a border.

As does Grandmother’s Choice… I think… bringing me back to my list. So, if I can think of what kind of border to put on Grandmother’s Choice, that may be the next up for the long arm.

——

After writing this, I guess writing must be like quilting, if you do at least 15 minutes a day, it’s not as hard to get going when you are scheduled to write, but when you haven’t in a while…

