Tags

, , , , , , ,

Up to 12 Hexagons on Stars for Malcolm.

Up to 12 Hexagons on Stars for Malcolm.

Not much is happening around here. Well, not much quilting is happening either.

I did (finally!) get my container garden (mostly) finished.  I am trying to grow cilantro from seed without it bolting again this year, but all the other plants were bought. (Well, except for the morning glories… they come up every year now.  Probably will still be looking for my trellis long after I’ve moved into the old age home.

Sadly, I am running out of this lovely grey fabric and I can't find any more, so I'm using another fabric to sash the other "grey" blocks in Grandmother's Choice.

Sadly, I am running out of this lovely grey fabric and I can’t find any more, so I’m using another fabric in addition to sash the  “grey” blocks in Grandmother’s Choice.

I’m actually happy to be making some (small) progress on some of my other projects as well.  I have about a third of Grandmother’s Choice sashed. I ran out of the light grey fabric I was using and bought a different one use as well.  I hope it looks okay, but I won’t really know until I’ve got more of the “substitute” grey sashing done.

Sadly, I found a bolt of the print in a beige in JoAnn fabrics, but nary a thread of the grey is to be found. I should have bought more. But how would I have known how much I’d love it. *sigh*

I did, however, jump on that brown 108″ backing fabric I found in the clearance rack for 50% off.  I don’t know I could have gotten it for less than $4/yard anywhere.  Just happened to be at the right place at the right time. I don’t even think I actually have this print, either, but I was contemplating buying it at one point.

So, even though I have a “fabric tragedy,” with the grey, I’ve had a “fabric miracle” to balance it out.

I have been keeping up with Aiming for Accuracy. The third block was supposed to be posted today, but I haven’t seen it, so, obviously I haven’t made it yet.

Putting my porch garden together.

Putting my porch garden together.

Tomorrow, I start long arm quilting The Quilt That Shall Remain Nameless.  Maybe I’ll even take a picture of it to show you all. (I still think it’s absurdly, overly yellow.)

Maybe this will be the breakthrough I need to actually start completing projects. These still isn’t one I’ve finished this year and it’s the middle of July. (Although, to tell the truth, I’m 3/4 of the way to my goal of reading 100 books this year, so maybe that’s where my time has gone.)

