Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Sunflower Lattice as a completed quilt top. I decided against borders and I'll be going with an all-over pattern to quilt this one.

Sunflower Lattice as a completed quilt top. I decided against borders and I’ll be going with an all-over pattern to quilt this one.

I just noticed that I’m on my 51st post, which means I’ve been doing this a year (more or less) since I’ve been trying to post weekly. In actuality my “blog-i-versary” is the 26th. Just nice to know that I can keep up with a long-term project!

I wrote my list of “priority projects” on the white board on my door so I see it every day. (Unfortunately, this does not mean that I actually LOOK at it every day. *sigh*)

I was able to strike off Sunflower Lattice, which, as I said last week, only had one more seam until I finished it as a top. It’s now supposed to be “resting,” but keeps demanding attention in a loud and strident way. (I’ve since told it to pipe down since I don’t have any green fabric to use as backing, but it still whimpers ever now and then…)

XMasDJ1

This quilt is made from exchange blocks, but was planned for me to practice my quilting in the solid fabric bars.

To keep myself from being sucked back into piecing, I have started to hunt down and design motifs for the Xmas quilt I made from a block exchange with members of the Dear Jane email list.

I fully expect a name for this project to pop into my head while I’m working on it, but as of now, I’m describing it as “Xmas Dear Jane.”

The plan was to do a different pattern in each solid strip, so I’ve been cruising the internet and leafing through my quilt books in search of inspiration.

I am now leaning towards doing the same quilting pattern in the two green strips, and the same in the reds (but different from the greens.)

I like feathers, so most of the motifs will be feathers, partial feathers, feather-inspired motifs. I’ve adapted a long-arm pantograph for one of the rows, but I want to see if it goes with the others that I’ve drafted before I finally settle on it. Here are some of the contenders:

amishring

This one came from a book by Shirley Thompson, published in 1980 (no longer in print.) I believe it is adapted from an Amish motif, but I still need to fiddle with it to work in the space I have for it.

Also modified from an Amish design, I added the center row of circles.

Also modified from an Amish design, I added the center row of circles. This will probably be the motif I quilt in the green strips. (Not sure which book I got this original from… I guess I should keep better notes.)

 

This one I drew using the information I learned in Lee Cleland's book "Feathers That Fly."

This one I drew using the information I learned in Lee Cleland’s book “Feathers That Fly.” I am thinking of putting this one in the red strips to set off the other border motif from the rest of the quilt.

 

featherandswag

Also adapted from Lee Cleland, this is a traditional Feather Cable.

 

 

 

