Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

I finished Big Wheels, but Ed won't let me show it to you...

I finished Big Wheels, but Ed won’t let me show it to you…

I seem to be starting all my blog entries with apologies lately.

I haven’t felt much like writing.  Everything I type seems to come out disjointed and uninteresting.

But, it’s been two weeks, so I guess I’ll show you want I’ve been up to.

BB-CG35agl

Grandmother’s Choice Block 34 (I think.) The handle is a bit small for the size of the cup. If it was a “normal” size, I bet that cup would hold a gallon of coffee!

After a long, frustrating slog, I finally finished Big Wheels.  I decided to keep the border plain except for the corners because I had some really great ideas about quilting circles filled with “filler patterns” in them.  Originally I was to insert half-circles in pale green and pale yellow.

I think leaving the border minimally pieced and playing with the texture by quilting it could be very cool and “modern” -looking (even though I don’t style myself a “Modern Quilter.”)  See, Angela, I’ve started to introduce “negative space” into my quilting. (Well, actually you can’t see, since I haven’t photographed it yet.)

Grandmother's Choice block 35.  I could make one more and stop here. Hmmm.

Grandmother’s Choice block 35. I could make one more and stop here. Hmmm.

I caught up on Grandmother’s Choice, but I didn’t like this week’s block (Sunbonnet Sue), so I am skipping it.  I will either make another block probably from Dear Jane or one of my other “block books.

I played with some of the left over squares from the charity quilt I showed last time I posted.  This time I am working in half-square triangles and quarter-square triangles.  Nothing about it is exciting me about this project, though. I might just abandon it to someone else’s care eventually.

I finally finished the row for the final month of my Guild’s Row Robin.

The final row of my Guild's Row Robin.  It's bright for me, but I think I overdid it with the background fabrics.  I should have kept within a narrower range, but whoever gets it can rip it off of her quilt and toss it, if she desires.

The final row of my Guild’s Row Robin. It’s bright for me, and I think I overdid it with the background fabrics. I should have kept within a narrower color range, but whoever gets it can rip it off of her quilt and toss it, if she desires.

This Sunflower block is twice the size of the ones for to Row Robin.

This Sunflower block is twice the size of the ones for to Row Robin.

The nice thing about the  strip I did (the theme was “Summer”) is that I decided I really liked the sunflowers if I could “free” them from the too busy background. I made the block in a bigger size and will be putting together an entire quilt of them.

I will also be writing instructions on this block (which has NO inset seams!) It’s not that terrible, once you realize that sewing on a 60 degree angle is not much different from sewing on the straight of grain as long are you are   careful not to stretch the bias.

So, that’s what I’ve been up to.  I’ll have to wait to take a picture of the finished Big Wheels until the construction on my patio is done since that’s the only place I can hang any quilt of size and get far enough away to take a picture!

I will leave you with Miko’s Words of Wisdom for today:

necessities

 

 

