Not a pink person, I, nevertheless, unearthed some pink fabrics in my stash.

Not a pink person, I, nevertheless, unearthed some pink fabrics in my stash for the Block of the Month raffle by my Guild.

Sorry I didn’t post on Thursday as scheduled.

Some days, though the sun is bright, the air is warm and things are green and sprouting, Prozac is just not enough to get me to do anything more than is absolutely necessary.  Not even a kitten’s purr or crisp, cool sheets.  Or fabric.

Yes, I fell into one of those cap-D Pits of Despair and I’m just now climbing out of it.  It happens.

Lately I’ve been contemplating how I make quilts and it occurs to me that for the last several months, I’ve been working on other people’s quilts and have not been happy about it.

First, of course, was the Quilt That Shall Remain Nameless (which I still can’t show you.) For that one, of course, I was testing pattern directions, although I did get to choose my colors and fabrics.  I believe all I did was whine about it at the time. (I like it a bit better now, but still don’t think of it as one of my quilts.)

I’ve been steadily working on my Guild’s Block of the Month raffle (make a block, pretend to put your name in the bucket (but don’t), and then, when they draw a name pretend to be a little disappointed it wasn’t you.) This is pretty mindless as they give you a pattern, sometimes some fabric, and, usually the colors (or a range of colors.)

RR-Fair-PPaglI’ve also been trying to keep up with the Guild’s Row Robin and have not liked any of my contributions.  I just don’t think they fit in. This one was supposed to be foundation paper-pieced, and I am just not a fan of that technique. I felt I had to use one of her fabrics, it it turned out to be way too busy.

t's hard for me, even given all the blocks and fabrics, to make a quilt like someone else...

It’s hard for me, even given all the blocks and fabrics, to make a quilt like someone else, I guess.

Monday, I picked up a plastic baggie filled with blocks from the Comfort Quilts people at my local Guild. The note attached said: “This is a UFO (maybe 2!) See if you can get a top out of this.”

Well, it was filled with squares, mostly 5″, some larger, some sewn together in strips.  I thought I could just put them together as they were, but that was boring.  I couldn’t make that other person’s quilt exactly as it had been furnished.

So, I added some yellow and gold fabric from the file I have designated “Get Rid of This Fabric…Pronto.” And now, it’s not someone other’s person’s quilt.  It’s mine.

I don’t understand how this since none of the fabrics in the quilt were bought by me, it just looks more like something I’d make than some of the other stuff I’ve worked on this year.

I don’t know why the Comfort Quilts quilt is more mine than the Row Robin (which I picked the patterns and most of the fabrics) but somewhere in the course of framing the 4-patches this quilt became “mine” as the Country Fair quilt row and The Quilt That Shall Remain Nameless never seemed to be.

