Tags

, , , , ,

Since the circles are so striking, I'm trying a more subtle approach to sashing Big Wheels.

Since the circles are so striking, I’m trying a more subtle approach to sashing Big Wheels.

For the past couple of days, almost a week now, forward progress on my quilting has slowed to a crawl.

The first and foremost reason is that I had to do my taxes.  Taxes strike terror in the hearts of freelancers everywhere (or maybe just me.) I thought they would be easy this year because I’ve only had one job and it paid on a W-2. To try to alleviate some of the stress, I purchased some software to help (it was on sale.)

Long story short: it took me longer to get the software up and running properly than it took to actually DO my taxes (including the sorting/filing/adding things up part!) So now I’m mad at myself for wasting money on it (even though it was a good deal) that I could have spent on cat food, or (more probably) fabric.

Oh well, they’re done now.

This block was supposed to be the last one for Big Wheels, but if failed on many levels: it was too big to work with the other circles, and I ran out of the mossy green, so when I added the other greens they "competed" too much with the yellows.

This block was supposed to be the last one for Big Wheels, but if failed on many levels: it was too big to work with the other circles, and I ran out of the mossy green fabric and had to add others.

Another reason for the lack of progress was the sheer frustration of not having my final block of Big Wheels turn out as I had envisioned it. The lighter fabric I used because I ran out of the mossy green background did not “sparkle” as I had intended.  I think the problem was that I had 12 yellows of various intensities.  If I had only had just one, I probably might have been able to get away with the multi-shaded background.

Oh well, you win some and you lose some.

But, the Festival of Medical Attention is almost over and thus my driving all over northeastern Massachusetts to a different doctor every day  I passed my physical. No one has cancer. And we only have two more doctors to go (Peg’s neurologist and Miko’s vet.) Yay.

Shhh. Don't tell Miko she's got an appointment with the V-E-T on Monday...

Shhh. Don’t tell Miko she’s got an appointment with the V-E-T on Monday…

So, I guess it’s time to restart my quilting progress.  I’ve pulled fabric for the Guild’s block of the month, Barbara Brackman’s Grandmother’s Choice, and a remake of block 12 of Big Wheels (which will be similar, but actually a size that fits.)

I’ve cut out and pieced all of the sashing for Big Wheels, AND did not run out of any of it (although I only have one 4″x 12″ piece of the light green left.) I was worried mostly about the background fabric because I cut two of the circles wrong, and that muslin is at least 20 years old. (It says “Peter Pan” on the selvage! Are they still in business?)

So, even though I am no longer “Marching A Long”, I am hoping to get in a bit of sewing each day and actually see things come together soon!

 

