Tags

, , , , , , ,

Half way done with Big Wheels blocks. I suppose I could have made this Mariner's Compass block more complicated...

Half way done with Big Wheels blocks. I suppose I could have made this Mariner’s Compass block more complicated…

Actually, this post has nothing to do with Ides, or much to do with March, or even anything about “bewaring” anything.  I’ve just always wanted to use that line and it’s never been appropriate.

It’s not really appropriate now, I suspect, but I am posting on the 15th (having been delayed in posting this week for many trivial (mostly) non-quilting reasons.)

Anyway, I have been a bit more prolific this week than last.  I now am past the halfway point with constructing blocks for Big Wheels and have “discovered” that the round blocks come in about three or four “categories.”

There is the “Out From The Center” category, which I consider to be the first couple of blocks I made (and the Cyclone block of last week).

I have named the next category, the “Double Wedding Ring type” because they have the four “football” shapes on the outside like a Double Wedding ring.  The Pickle Dish, I made a few weeks back (shown in the bottom left corner of the photo of Big Wheels on Lost Time) is included in this type.

Circling Swans in a block that didn't make it into another quilt I was working on, so I just cut it down to put in a circle for Big Wheels.  Is that cheating?

Circling Swans in a block that didn’t make it into another quilt I was working on, so I just cut it down to put in a circle for Big Wheels. Is that cheating?

“Concentric Rings” really only applies the Bull’s Eye block I completed on DaGM20: Day 10. I guess I could also include the unnamed Block 3 (seen in There and Back Again) which is really a marriage of both “Out From The Center” and “Concentric Rings” types.

The last category I can think of off-hand is “Pieced in a Circle.”

When I tried to come up with twelve blocks for this quilt, I struggled over including these since they weren’t technically circular blocks (and this one in particular isn’t even green), but in the end, I thought I wanted to include both this one and a paper-pieced one (which I haven’t made yet) just to give the quilt some diversity in construction techniques. It still slightly bugs me that it’s blue, but I think I can get myself over it.

I've been using Jinny Beyer's The Qulter's Album of Patchwork Patterns as inspiration to draft my circle blocks for Big Wheels. I still want to be her when I grow up!

I’ve been using Jinny Beyer‘s The Quilter’s Album of Patchwork Patterns as inspiration to draft my circle blocks for Big Wheels. I still want to be her when I grow up!

The rest of the blocks will be in these categories (or, like Block 3, a combination of these categories.)

So, other than piecing these blocks, I’ve been drawing new blocks.  More drawing than piecing this week, actually.

And I did fondle fabric as well. I rearranged my stash and put fabric I had been using away, but I still can’t fit all my purchases from the Guild UFO Auction last week into the space reserved for my fabric, so I’ve pulled the Christmas fabric and all of the non-animal “conversationals” and put them in a box. I either need to get cracking on using up some fabric or get a bigger box.

Grandmother's Choice block for the week (with the original green replaced by blue fabric!)

Grandmother’s Choice block for the week (with the original green replaced by blue fabric!)

In other piecing news, I did finish my Barbara Brackman block for this week on Wednesday. I must have been confused because I ended up with a white, yellow and GREEN block (just as I ended up with a BLUE block for Big Wheels.)

In the end, I ripped out the green (since it was just on the corners) and put in some blue instead, but if anyone has some idea of where I have put my brain, please email me and let me know.

All this and we had some lovely weather in the 50s for a few days so getting out and about was a real temptation (and I yielded to that.) Now, however, the temperatures have plummeted (still relatively bright out there) and it’s less of a lure.

