Tags

, , , , , , ,

I have four blocks done on the Big Wheels quilt.  I'm shooting for 9, so it's a little under half-way done.

I have four blocks done on the Big Wheels quilt. I’m shooting for 12, so it’s a quarter done.

So I lost track of time last week.

While I was out and about I had some great ideas for topics to add to the blog, but, of course, I was driving and couldn’t write them down.  Sadly, they are gone now.

Maybe they will return, but I am not hopeful.

Now that February is over and March has begun, I am entering a period of “fabric thrift.”

As I might have mentioned while grumbling about how much of my yellow stash had been depleted by The Quilt That Shall Remain Nameless (which my friend, Cricket, has dubbed “Voldemort,” although I was thinking more along the lines of Rumpole of the Bailey,) that I had given myself carte blanche to acquire fabric until the end of February.

The first 26 blocks from Grandmother's Choice.  Seeing them all together like this really brings home that they will need sashing.

The first 26 blocks from Grandmother’s Choice. Seeing them all together like this really brings home that they will need sashing.

And, acquire I did.

I went to three quilting stores (Red Barn in Merrimac, MA; Quilted Shamrock in Hudson, NH; and somewhere else that skips my mind at the moment.) I went to the Fabric Place Basement in Framingham, MA. And, finally, I went to my Guild’s UFO auction.

Now, at the time I went to the UFO auction, I wasn’t actually planning on buying any more fabric, but I kept getting good deals and now I have no place to put my purchases. *sigh*  I guess I must make more quilts!

Speaking of progress, I am finally making some (instead of ripping out everything I sew because it just wasn’t working for me.)

  • I have finally completed the fourth block of Big Wheels and have drafted (and begun cutting out) the fifth one.
  • Getting used to this retractable line means I will no long lose my scissors, especially due to cat interference (I hope!)

    Getting used to this retractable line means I will no long lose my scissors, especially due to cat interference (I hope!)

    I am up to date on Grandmother’s Choice. (My mother thinks we should use these blocks to make a quilt for my brother, but I don’t know if they are “too girly” or not.  Anyone have an opinion?)

  • After having it less than a week, I finished my “Row Robin” box for the Guild.  It was easy as soon as I figured out what I was going to do.
  • I also finished my Guild’s Block of the Month

So, in other words, a much more productive week than the last time I blogged.


In other “news,” Drop and Give Me Twenty is done for the year, but I have found something else to keep me on track: The Scientific Quilter’s March-A-Long.

Darla, of the podcast The Scientific Quilter, is also running “an excuse to quilt every day,” like EvaPaige Quilt Designs.  Since I sew (usually) a minimum of half an hour every day, 15 minutes should be a snap (I hope!) If you joined (or considered joining) DaGM20, you might want to check it out (although I don’t think prizes are involved.)

