Tags

, , , , , , ,

It's cold out! I need more quilts...

Ed says: “It’s cold out! I need more quilts…”

OK, it’s now January and we’ve all had our orgy of “what am I going to do to improve next year?”

I don’t actually make resolutions any more.  It wasn’t that I didn’t keep them.  It was more that I forgot them because, like Ed, my brain seems to be the size of a walnut sometimes.

DNA3:In Memory of Rumor might just have been needed as a quilt last night, but, alas, it's still just a top...

DNA3:In Memory of Rumor might just have been needed as a quilt last night, but, alas, it’s still just a top…

The one “goal” that seems to work for me is to promise myself that I will complete more projects than I start.  Last year, I squeaked by on that (starting 9 and completing 13.) Problem was that my starts were BIG (Spirographology, Oldies, Got Dots, Daystars,  the four (!) quilts I made from the blocks meant for  one (my) DnA project…) and my finishes were small (like the Kindle cover, Kris’ tea cosy and the tiny knitted mouse I made  for Cricket.)

And since it’s so cold out (it’s in the single digits as I write this and it’s midmorning.) I am really regretting not having gotten some of the bigger tops turned into quilts.

So will this be the year that I actually crank out more full sized quilts than “little projects?” I do have about 20 tops, and I have been itching to try out the new computerized long-arm thing that Cricket and Jeff got for Christmas…

However, I also decided I would finish writing up the instructions for the birdhouses, formalize the instructions for Catherine’s Wheel/Daystars, and actually test drive some instructions for other writers (which I can’t show you until they actually a)are complete, and b)  are finished.

The kindle cover was a very quick project since I used pre-quilted fabric and just serged the edges

The kindle cover was a very quick project since I used pre-quilted fabric and just serged the edges

In the non-quilting realm, I am going through all my belongs to divest some (mainly books and clothing), toss others (mainly old bills and paper of some vintage).  My aim is to do this bit by bit, so I don’t “feel” it, and get myself so organized that if anything should happen to me, my sister (who has never been to my apartment) could come in and get what needs to be done without too much hair pulling.

This might take longer than a year, though.

