Tags

, , , , , , ,

This is how I will always think of my Dad and Mom.

This is how I will always think of my Dad and Mom.

Sorry for the lull in posting.  I wish I could say I was busy with preparations for the holidays, but the truth is much sadder.

My father passed away on December 3 of cancer. I have mentioned him on this blog in the past when I discussed my favorite quilt, Learning Curve. There was a very short time between his diagnosis and when he left.  The Prayer and Remembrance gathering was on December 7.

It was a nice service, short and full of meaning.  My aunt and uncle (my Dad’s brother) came in from Massachusetts (where I live, also), and one of the interesting tidbits I picked up was that they are a “quilting couple” as well.

One quarter of the applique quilt my Mom quilted and my Dad drafted.

One quarter of an applique quilt my Mom quilted and my Dad drafted.

We had two of the quilts that Mom and Dad had worked on together on display at the gathering. I don’t think I realized how much Dad had to do with the design of the quilts.  My mother would pick what she wanted to do and the size she wanted it to be and Dad would draft the design.

Then, she would make it, choosing the colors and coming up with ideas for the quilting.

He would then draft the quilting and mark it so she could quilt it.

Mom wanted these arcs to form circles.  Apparently, it took some fiddling by Dad to make it all work out.

Mom wanted these arcs to form circles. Apparently, it took some fiddling by Dad to make it all work out.

This is one of my favorite of their quilts. Mom liked the arcs but wanted the quilting to just be circles.

Taken as just blocks, I’m not certain this quilt would be quite as awesome as it turned out. but the exuberant applique borders are probably from a vintage quilt or pattern. (She probably told me and I’ve forgotten…No doubt I’ll get an email with the correction!)

Back of the quilt

Back of the quilt

If you look at the back of this quilt, you can really see what Mom was getting at: the quilting pattern shows no blocks at all, just arcs and feathers.

It seems my Uncle Jim and Aunt Collette have a similar sharing of quilting tasks. She chooses the pattern and he drafts (and sometimes cuts them out.)

I guess I was just lucky to inherit both the sewing/choosing gene AND the drafting/marking/cutting gene so I can do it all by myself.

I hope everyone has a nice Christmas (or whatever you celebrate.)  I hope to be posting again weekly before the New Year.

