Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Preliminary layout for Oldies. The final quilt will be much larger!

I’m moving slowly on my projects…mostly because I have too many of them going at once! (I think I may have the quilters’ version of ADHD.)

So what am I working on and why can’t I settle down to one or two projects? Well, I’m stuck on the ones I feel I should work on and distracted by ones I feel I should not.

Some examples: Too Many Twos still has not enough 2″ blocks to complete. (Yes, I do see the irony in that statement.)  I dragged it out of the closet because I thought I could grab some of the leftovers from Spirographology and actually finish the top (it’s sooooo close!) But… there’s… not… quite… enough. *sigh*

Oldies has 9 “records” and 5 interior blocks complete.   I am trying not to work on it so I can actually finish some older projects, but it makes me laugh and I’m enjoying seeing it emerge.  So that’s a losing battle, I should just give up right now…

Daystars is the same block as Catherine Wheels but with a light background.

Daystars is plodding along apace with one star done every day.  It’s getting to be almost “quilt sized” as soon as I decide what size I want it to be.

…And then there’s the applique inner border on Got Dots  which I grabbed to have some handwork.

I’m supposed to be quilting  DNA1 (long arm) and Spring Fling (DSM) but both projects are stalled. When I will be motivated enough to return to these projects is anyone’s guess.

Here a chunk. There a chunk of Spirographology. Will I ever make it all fit together?

Spirographology is coming together (slowly, of course, like everything else I’m doing.) I’ve been putting together the top using the “chunking” method (instead of by rows as suggested in all the instructions I’ve ever read about “Jack’s Chain” quilts.)

My friends in my Guild refer to this as “Twosie-Foursies” (apparently this is what Mary Ellen Hopkins called it. …What ever happened to her?  Is she still around?) I couldn’t find a link to Mary Ellen Hopkins (or even a detailed description of the technique) anywhere, so here’s my “fast and dirty” description:

An example of a “Twosie.” Just imagine these squares are quilt blocks.

To “chunk” (or sew your quilt together Twosie/Foursie), sew all the blocks in your quilt together in pairs.

Combine 2 “Twosies” to form a “Foursie”

Then, sew those pairs into pairs.

Aim at combining your blocks until they form 4 units.

Keep sewing units together until you have just four big units with all your blocks.

Sew the two shorter of the seams, to make those quarters into two halves of the quilt.

Finally, sew the last long seam down the middle and you’re ready to put borders on (or, if you don’t want borders, you’re done! …with the top at any rate.)

In the example illustrated, I’d probably sew the top two sections together, and then the bottom two. leaving a 4 block final seam across the middle to sew last.

(If that explanation was a clear as mud to you, just email me or comment on this post and I’ll try to clarify.)

WIP Wednesday at Freshly Pieced

I like putting quilts together this way because I find it’s more accurate for me to sew shorter seams. The only really long seams are at the end.

Another reason I like this technique is you are saved from manipulating the bulk of the fabric in your top until close to the end.

