Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

You may think Vermont’s motto is: “Live Free or Die, But Don’t Tell Anyone Else About That ‘Cause New Hampshire’s Already Put It On Their License Plates, ” but actually Vermont’s motto is: “We’ve Got The Largest And Oldest Quilt Event in New England…Neener, Neener, Neener.”*

And, at said event (i.e. the Vermont Quilt Festival), two of my fellow Chelmsford Quilters Guilders (Anne Gallo and Susan Raban, yeah, I know them!) were being honored with an exhibit of their work.

So, our former El Presidente, Cathy K, chartered a bus which I and 50 of my fellow Guild members got on at oh-dark-thirty (for me) to head off to Essex Junction (which is near Burlington and Lake Champlain).

If I expected to sleep on the bus, I was quickly disabused of that notion. The energy and chattyness of my fellow quilters was contagious. I talked far too much and told my (three) funny stories so many times that I can honestly say not only did I give my friends too much information about me, but I bored them at the same time. Oh well, at least this way I won’t have to talk for another couple of months.

We got to the show and the first exhibit I saw was Gerald Roy’s (Pilgrim/Roy Collection) antique quilts (which, frustratingly enough, were not allowed to be photographed.) You can learn SOO much from antique quilts if you sit and examine them, but I only had four hours to see ALL the quilt, and shop at all the vendors, so I only got to glimpse at each of them.

I zipped through Mickey Lawler’s exhibit, and then hit Susan and Anne’s (see first picture, above.) Very nice, and that was only the first hour.

My favorite part, of course, is the contest quilts, which were in the “other room.” It didn’t seem as if there were as many of them as last year, but many of the ones that made the cut this year, were awesome. There seemed to me more applique quilts than last year, most of them traditional “Baltimore Album” style. I began to be afraid for my own little “Learning Curve” which will be exhibited at Images in September. I may never applique again (NOT).

I was happy to see several hand-pieced and hand-quilted entries. Sometimes with the expertise and prolificacy longarmers and machine quilters have been showing, I worry that those of use who use just needle and thread will get left in the dust. One handquilted submission was a Dear Jane (no doubt prompting me to feel slightly guilty that I hadn’t even started quilting mine which I finished hand-piecing 10 years ago.)

Even though I lingered looking at the show quilts, I was able to do some shopping as well. I had made a list, and, even though I didn’t get everything on it, I got the stuff I really wanted (except for the fabric for my mother and pantographs for me.)

So, a good time (and sore feet) were had by all… and none of us slept on the way home, either.

*In truth, Vermont’s state motto is “Freedom and Unity”, but that doesn’t make as good a story…

