Tags

, , , , , , ,

Nearly all of Les Filles de Les Mares is on my design wall.

Well, I’m done with the blocks for Les Filles de Les Mares, and now I am putting together the top. As you can see in the photo I see have a couple more strips of triangles to finish.

But what I’m mostly thinking about is: does it need borders? And, if so, what kind?

So, I did a little research (don’t you just love The Quilt Index? Oh, and the internet in general, too.)

The traditional Ladies of the Lake quilts don’t always have borders. Some have thin, plain borders. Some have thicker borders. (Very few pieced borders, though) I’ve even seen a few on the Internet with stunning, appliqued borders (although I think that might necessitate buying fabric since I will not applique with homespun… that way lies madness.)

So, this week I will be putting together the “main quilt top” and thinking about borders.

Banquetclose

A scan from a book does not necessarily make the best illustration for this quilt. Go check out the book for yourself!

In the meantime, I am working on the pattern based on the Isako Murakami’s Banquet Under the Trees as shown in the book Japanese Quilts (which I mentioned last week.)

I was just so intrigued by this quilt not only because of the fabric the quilter used to piece it (silk wedding kimono, obi, etc.) but also because it looked like Tumbling Blocks, but was obviously pieced like a Log Cabin block.

This is the block on which the quilt was based.

This is the block on which the quilt was based.

Upon closer inspection of the photograph, (oh, how I wish I had a better one to study… or, even better, a chance to look at the actual quilt itself!) I decided it was based on a triangle, not a diamond (as would be the case in a traditional Tumbling Blocks quilt.

From there, it was just a matter of getting the proportions right and drawing up the pattern. I will probably foundation-piece this quilt.

BanquetDraw

My pattern ended up with 3/4″ strips (1-1/4″ cut.)

And, of course, I haven’t named it yet.  I may pick something from my limited Japanese vocabulary.


In ending this post, I just thought I’d put in (yet another) plug for Beth Helfter’s “Drop and Give Me 20.”

As, you know I am a HUGE fan of doing a little quilting every day.

It keeps dozens of annoying people alive, actually. Maybe that’s not exactly a service to mankind, but at least it keeps me out of jail, where I don’t know if they have sewing machines, but I’m fairly certain they don’t have rotary cutters…

If you don’t quilt a little every day, February is the perfect month to experiment. For one thing, it’s short.

Just remember, you don’t have to physically sew every day.  Each day’s 20 minutes can be leading up to quilting over the week-end (for instance, spend 20 minutes each weekday pressing, cutting, or pulling fabrics, setting up for actual sewing over the weekend, or even just another day.)

